Senza Gluten

An Italian restaurant that is 100% Gluten Free?!?! Sign me up! Located in the heart of Grenwich Village, Senza Gluten is an Italian restaurant that is perfect for celiacs. Their entire kitchen is gluten free, meaning there is no chance of contamination. Happy days! They offer Brunch, Lunch and Dinner, so many dishes to try. Here is a look at my brunch and dinner experience and the amazing food that was devoured quickly and completely.

 

FullSizeRender-2

Blueberry Gluten Free muffin

 

Brunch:  Sitting outside in the sun amongst other gluten free foodies was a great way to start my Sunday. I say start, but this was actually around 1pm. If you are not a morning person like myself, fear not, Senza Gluten caters to us by providing brunch until 4pm. the variety on the menu made it difficult to make a decision, everything sounds delectable. French toast, pancakes, quiche, an array of egg dishes, pizza’s and lasagne, just to name a few. When I ventured inside to use the bathroom, an array of gluten free baked goods stared me down. Scones, muffins and biscuits all asking you to chose them. The blueberry muffin was a good way to start, but I am definitely hanging out for next time when I get a scone in my clutches. I strongly recommend going with someone so you get to try more than one dish.

FullSizeRender-3

The plain buttermilk pancakes, served with fresh fruit salad and maple syrup had my mouth watering as they sat before me. Three fluffy pancakes were the perfect amount, sprinkled with powdered sugar and complimented by a good fruit salad. Im not talking a fruit salad consisting mainly of melon varieties, (you know what I mean), I’m talking kiwi fruit, pineapple, apples, pears and strawberries, topped with a couple mint leaves.

FullSizeRender

Impressive, thick and fluffy French Toast sat on Chris’s plate, also accompanied by fresh fruit salad. This bread was amazing, I was considering ordering this for myself, but didn’t want to be disappointed if some crappy thin white, small slices (the standard gluten free toast) came out. To my delight it was slices of fluffy cinnamon goodness.

FullSizeRender-4

Dinner:  This was the first time we ventured to Senza Gluten. After finding them on instagram and randomly wondering passed, it was at the top of my list for our next meal out. The restaurant inside is quite dimly lit which made it difficult to get some quality pictures, so apologies in advance. The dinner menu offers many starters, soups, salads, mains and a large selection of pasta dishes.

FullSizeRender-5

 

We began our Senza Gluten culinary experience with the goats cheese bruschetta from the specials menu. Out came four small baguette slices smeared with goats cheese and topped with cooked onion. It was ok, but I wouldn’t be in a rush to order it again. The other starter was definitely better – breaded, fried and baked cauliflower with buffalo mozzarella and Parmesan in a fresh tomato sauce. This was soooooo good!!

 

FullSizeRender-10

If you know me well, then you know how much I love my gnocchi!! It has always been such a favourite of mine, I don’t know why, I think I just love doughy things, then God gives me celiac disease, doesn’t really help my love for dough.. Lucky for me there were two gnocchi choices on the menu (YAYYYY). With all the food on the table (and plans for dessert) I opted for the lighter option in a rich tomato sauce, topped with fresh basil and grated parmesan which melted into the heavenly, little potato dumplings. If that didn’t get your mouth watering and tummies grumbling, I don’t know what will.

FullSizeRender-6

I am not the biggest fish eater, but Chris’s choice of seared wild pink snapper had me reaching across the table. The fillet came swimming in a light white wine sauce with capers, cherry tomatoes, garnished with parsley. A bundle of grilled asparagus and mashed potato complimented the flavours perfectly.

 

 

 

 

FullSizeRender-7

Dessert: Another reason to go with someone, two desserts!! Molten chocolate cake, Panna Cotta, Creme Brûlée, tiramisu, scoops of gelato… So many good options, you can’t go wrong. We shared the shortbread cookies with fresh strawberries, pistatio ice cream and chocolate sauce to drizzle on over, and the Greek yogurt Panna Cotta with marinated strawberries. Both desserts were delicious. The best way to end a gluten free dinner.

FullSizeRender-9

 

So there you have it – a perfect Italian restaurant for celiacs and gluten avoiders. I am already deciding what I will have next time. I’m very keen to try their sandwiches and pizza. If you have any other allergies, be sure to tell your server, they are all very friendly and willing to accommodate.

I definitely recommend going here, but a couple of things you should know before going:

  1. It is a dressier restaurant, so if you want to sit inside, I wouldn’t suggest going in flip flops and a hat.
  2. It is on the pricier side.
  3. They only take cash or American Express. I am not sure why, we asked our server and she had no idea either. So stop at an ATM on the way.

 

  • Gluten Free Bread – Yes, yes and YES!
  • Location – 206 Sullivan St, Greenwich Village
  • Coffee – Good
Leave a Reply

