Ruby’s

I am hearing more and more that Aussies are taking over NY, so much so that there is an area known as “little Australia” aka Soho/Nolita. Strolling down Mulberry St, you will probably hear more Aussie accents than American. Though I did not move to the other side of the world to only spend my days in Australian bars, restaurants and cafes – I have to say, there is something nice about being around fellow Aussies who have ventured to the other side of the world to also give New York a go.

Ruby’s – located on Mulberry st, between Spring and Prince – is a great place to grab some delicious coffee and gluten free grub. They use fresh and local produce and the Austalian culinary influence is obvious in their “Brekkie” menu offering vegemite toast and Avo toast. For all the celiacs, please do not be adventurous and try the vegemite toast – it is NOT gluten free, Vegemite is made from yeast grown on barley and wheat. They also have a few Aussie beers on offer including Boags and Coopers – also not for us celiacs, sorry.

image

Whaleys Burger

Now more on what we gluten free peeps can eat! Ruby’s not only offer GF bread (yay), and pasta (yay), they also have really good GF buns for their burgers (double yay) – that look more like flat bread. Im such a fan of their GF burgers, some really show the Aussie influence with ingredients like pineapple, beetroot and a fried egg! I am a sucker for a good burger and have already tried their: Bronte – beef burger with tomato, lettuce, sweet chilli, mayo and cheese; Blueys burger – Chicken breast, tomato, lettuce, sweet chilli and cheese; and my fave, the Whaleys – ground beef, tomato, lettuce, beet, pineapple, fried egg and ketchup. The Whaleys burger is the typical burger “with the lot” at home. I would like to say that I am working my way through their list of burgers but once I find a good thing, I don’t want to be adventurous and try more, I get quite crabby if I’m disappointed with food and I’m not fun to be around. My boyfriend and family can account for that.

If Im feeling like being healthier, I can not go passed their Chicken and Avocado salad. A generous serving of grilled chicken breast, avocado, radicchio, greens, ricotta and soft boiled eggs. They offer a decent list of salads, depending on your mood and hunger level. I love a good salad when its stinking hot in summer.

I really need to try their pasta as well. One time we were seated beside someone who had ordered the creamy chicken pasta and I love anything with sun dried tomatoes and this had quite a few of them! Lucky she didn’t order the GF pasta, otherwise I would’ve been tempted to sneak some when she wasn’t looking ha ha.

image

Green Machine Smoothie

Now that I have covered the food and have your mouth watering – don’t worry mine is too writing this, reliving it all again – lets talk bevies. There is an array of juices and smoothies on their drinks list. If you’re parched, I strongly recommend their pineapple and mint juice – very refreshing. You can’t go wrong with the green machine smoothie – its my go to. Or if you’re GF and in the mood for a little afternoon delight, they also serve wine and cider.

The wait staff have always been very friendly and always double check with the kitchen to make sure everything in whatever dish I am ordering is GF. So don’t be afraid to ask. Better you be annoying than spend the next few hours in their small single bathroom.

This space can get very packed with a wait time of around an hour which can be much longer in summer,  so go in odd hours or just grab a great coffee inside and take it out to wait in the sunshine. Good food, good people, good space. Get there!

  • GF Bread – Yes
  • Location – 219 Mulberry St, Soho.
  • Coffee – Amazing
Leave a Reply

